Launch Windows

- Archived Page (InSight successfully launched on May 5, 2018)

Launch Windows

The first launch opportunity was scheduled for no earlier than May 5, 2018, at 4:05 a.m. PDT (7:05 a.m. EDT/11:05 a.m. UTC).

The launch period, the days in which the spacecraft could launch, opened on May 5 and lasted through June 8, 2018.

The duration of the daily launch windows varied from day to day. The launch windows will last approximately two hours, with a unique launch opportunity every five minutes.

InSight lands on Mars on Nov. 26, 2018, around noon PST (3:00 p.m. EST/8:00 p.m. UTC).


Launch
Day
Launch
Date (2018)
Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)
1 5/5 4:05:00 AM 7:05:00 AM 11:05:00 AM
2 5/6 3:55:00 AM 6:55:00 AM 10:55:00 AM
3 5/7 3:50:00 AM 6:50:00 AM 10:50:00 AM
4 5/8 3:40:00 AM 6:40:00 AM 10:40:00 AM
5 5/9 3:35:00 AM 6:35:00 AM 10:35:00 AM
6 5/10 3:30:00 AM 6:30:00 AM 10:30:00 AM
7 5/11 3:20:00 AM 6:20:00 AM 10:20:00 AM
8 5/12 3:15:00 AM 6:15:00 AM 10:15:00 AM
9 5/13 3:10:00 AM 6:10:00 AM 10:10:00 AM
10 5/14 3:00:00 AM 6:00:00 AM 10:00:00 AM
11 5/15 2:55:00 AM 5:55:00 AM 9:55:00 AM
12 5/16 2:45:00 AM 5:45:00 AM 9:45:00 AM
13 5/17 2:40:00 AM 5:40:00 AM 9:40:00 AM
14 5/18 2:35:00 AM 5:35:00 AM 9:35:00 AM
15 5/19 2:25:00 AM 5:25:00 AM 9:25:00 AM
16 5/20 2:20:00 AM 5:20:00 AM 9:20:00 AM
17 5/21 2:10:00 AM 5:10:00 AM 9:10:00 AM
18 5/22 2:05:00 AM 5:05:00 AM 9:05:00 AM
19 5/23 2:00:00 AM 5:00:00 AM 9:00:00 AM
20 5/24 1:50:00 AM 4:50:00 AM 8:50:00 AM
21 5/25 1:45:00 AM 4:45:00 AM 8:45:00 AM
22 5/26 1:40:00 AM 4:40:00 AM 8:40:00 AM
23 5/27 1:35:00 AM 4:35:00 AM 8:35:00 AM
24 5/28 1:30:00 AM 4:30:00 AM 8:30:00 AM
25 5/29 1:25:00 AM 4:25:00 AM 8:25:00 AM
26 5/30 1:20:00 AM 4:20:00 AM 8:20:00 AM
27 5/31 1:10:00 AM 4:10:00 AM 8:10:00 AM
28 6/1 1:05:00 AM 4:05:00 AM 8:05:00 AM
29 6/2 1:00:00 AM 4:00:00 AM 8:00:00 AM
30 6/3 12:55:00 AM 3:55:00 AM 7:55:00 AM
31 6/4 12:50:00 AM 3:50:00 AM 7:50:00 AM
32 6/5 12:45:00 AM 3:45:00 AM 7:45:00 AM
33 6/6 12:40:00 AM 3:40:00 AM 7:40:00 AM
34 6/7 12:35:00 AM 3:35:00 AM 7:35:00 AM
35 6/8 12:30:00 AM 3:30:00 AM 7:30:00 AM
Last updated: April 2018